USA Authorized TheyaVue Retailer Lot THE-26/GO-7323 Two capsules a day · 60 a bottle 60-day money-back guarantee +1 (315) 724-2018

TheyaVue Official Website › Blog › How Does TheyaVue Work? Following the Capsule From Blood to Retina

How it works

Does TheyaVue Work? Following the Capsule From Blood to Retina

Quick answerDoes TheyaVue work? No trial of the finished TheyaVue formula is published, so nobody can say for certain. Its main ingredients are meant to work in three steps: lutein and zeaxanthin enter the blood, the retina picks them up over months, and that pigment is linked to better contrast and glare recovery in trials. The rest of the formula adds little proven eye effect, and the label hides the lutein amount.

One TheyaVue bottle, front label, 60 capsules

Would you like to see the formula on the label?

The official page shows the bottle, the packs and the 60-day money-back guarantee.

See today's price and guarantee

Disclosure: Gotheyavue is paid when a sale comes through this site. The seller's checkout sets the final price.

Key facts
  • Step one: absorption. Blood levels of lutein and zeaxanthin rose within 2 weeks in a 12-week trial.
  • Step two: deposit. Macular pigment moves over months, not days.
  • Step three: outcome. Contrast sensitivity, glare recovery and processing speed improved in healthy adults.
  • Fat helps absorption: 24.0 percent with olive oil against 14.9 percent with coconut oil in one crossover trial.
  • Five ingredients here are fat-soluble: lutein, zeaxanthin, lycopene, beta carotene and vitamin E.
  • No trial of the finished TheyaVue formula is published.

How is TheyaVue supposed to work?

Think of a delivery chain with three links. A capsule delivers pigments to the blood. The retina takes some of them up. Then that pigment changes how light is handled at the back of the eye. Two of the links have good evidence. The third is where a careful page has to slow down.

The idea rests on lutein and zeaxanthin, the two carotenoids named on the front of the bottle. Together they form most of the macular pigment, a yellow layer over the central retina. It filters short-wavelength light and helps separate a target from its background. The body cannot make these pigments. They come from food, mainly dark leafy greens and egg yolk, or from a supplement.

Link one: does the capsule raise levels in the blood?

Yes, for the carotenoids at least. A 12-week trial gave 28 healthy adults one of three amounts of macular carotenoids, or a placebo. Blood was drawn every fortnight. Levels of lutein and zeaxanthin were significantly above placebo after just 2 weeks at every amount tested, and they kept climbing.

Two things decide how much gets through. One is the form of the carotenoid. The other, and the one you control, is fat. These pigments dissolve in fat, so they travel better with some in the meal. A crossover trial fed 16 people the same salad with four different fats. The share the body could take up was 24.0 percent with olive oil and 14.9 percent with coconut oil. It was higher again when the fat was emulsified. An older study of avocado found the same pattern.

This is why the seller suggests taking at least one capsule with a meal that has fat. Five ingredients here dissolve in fat: lutein, zeaxanthin, lycopene, beta carotene and vitamin E.

Link two: does the retina keep what the capsule delivers?

Macular pigment can be measured, and it differs a lot between healthy people. It also responds to intake. In the same 12-week trial, pigment density rose in all three treated groups against placebo.

A six-month trial in France looked at 120 people with no retinal disease whose parents had a form of macular degeneration. That group is close to the person this product is aimed at: someone watching their eyes, not someone being treated.

Here is the key point about timing. Blood moves within weeks. Pigment moves over months. That gap is why no capsule can do anything in week one. It is also why the seller's three-second promise on its video is the weakest thing on its page.

Pigment also falls again when intake stops. So the effect is kept up by taking it, not stored for good.

Link three: what does extra pigment do for sight?

This is the link that needs the most care. A year-long trial in 59 healthy adults aged 18 to 25 measured contrast sensitivity at the start, at six months and at twelve months. It improved in the treated groups, and the size of the gain followed the size of the pigment change. A separate year-long trial using lutein 10 mg and zeaxanthin 2 mg a day measured glare and recovery after a bright flash. A third study found faster visual processing in 69 young healthy people.

Notice what none of these outcomes is. None is a line gained on a letter chart. They are about contrast, glare and speed. Also notice who took part: young, healthy volunteers. Studies in people with diagnosed disease are a separate subject, and TheyaVue is not sold for that.

What does the rest of the TheyaVue formula add?

A label with 24 names invites the belief that every name does something. The evidence is uneven, and the table is honest about it.

IngredientsHow they might helpHow good is the evidence?
Lutein, zeaxanthinAbsorbed, deposited in the retina, tied to measured outcomesStrong, at amounts this label does not state
Bilberry, grape seedPlant compounds acting on the focusing muscle and small vesselsTwo decent trials each, at amounts this label does not state
Alpha lipoic acid, taurine, quercetin, rutin, lycopeneGeneral antioxidant and cell supportThin in the eye: one large negative trial, laboratory studies, a blood study
EyebrightTraditionOne trial, with drops in newborns, and it missed its goal
Zinc, copper, vitamins C and EThe mineral and vitamin core of the AREDS formulasStrong in diagnosed disease, at higher amounts than this label carries
B vitamins, biotin, calcium, magnesium, selenium, chromiumGeneral nutritionNot part of a tested eye formula at these levels

Read down the last column. The number of names on a label and the weight of evidence are different things.

Where does the evidence stop?

It stops at the finished product. Nobody has run a trial of TheyaVue itself. The amounts of the key ingredients are not printed. And the trials used mostly healthy young adults, so the results may not match your age or diet.

A person who already eats plenty of greens and egg yolk may gain less than a person who eats none. The seller's pages say as much: someone short on those foods has more headroom.

None of this is a reason to dismiss the idea. It is a reason to set the right expectations: months, not days, and contrast and glare, not letter charts.

Where do these facts come from?

Every figure on this page comes from the TheyaVue label, from the seller's own pages, or from a source named below. Anything the seller has not published is marked as such.

  1. A mechanistic review of the three carotenoids. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/33114699/
  2. The three-dose macular pigment study. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/27426932/
  3. The LIMPIA trial. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/28973076/
  4. A twelve-month contrast-sensitivity trial. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/28431432/
  5. The glare and photostress trial. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/25468896/
  6. A study of visual processing speed. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/25483230/
  7. A randomised crossover trial on dietary fat. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/36921903/
  8. The avocado absorption study. https://pubmed.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/15735074/

Frequently asked questions

How does TheyaVue work in simple words?

The capsule is meant to raise blood levels of lutein and zeaxanthin. The retina takes some up over months. In trials, more pigment went with better contrast and glare recovery in healthy adults.

Why does the label ask for a meal with fat?

The label itself only asks for 20 to 30 minutes before a meal with water. The seller adds that fat helps, because five ingredients dissolve in fat and are absorbed better with it.

Do the other 22 ingredients help the eye?

The evidence is uneven. Bilberry has two decent trials, alpha lipoic acid has a large negative one, and eyebright has one trial using drops in newborns. The rest rests on laboratory work.

Does TheyaVue work on the first day?

No. Blood levels move within weeks and retinal pigment moves over months. Nothing visual should be expected in the first week.

What happens if I stop taking it?

Macular pigment falls again when intake stops, so the effect is kept up by continuing to take it.

Has TheyaVue itself been tested in a trial?

No published trial of the finished formula is listed. The trials named here tested single ingredients at stated amounts.

Our view

The mechanism behind TheyaVue is sound as far as it goes. Carotenoids reach the blood, the retina keeps some, and more pigment goes with better contrast and glare recovery in healthy adults. That is a real chain of evidence, and we are happy to describe it.

The weak point is the label. The two key ingredients sit inside a blend with no figure, so the chain cannot be tied to this bottle with certainty. The other ingredients add breadth, not proof. We would rather say that plainly than lean on the length of the ingredient list.

If you try TheyaVue, give it months, take a capsule with a meal that has some fat, and keep your eye exams going. Ask a doctor if you are unsure whether it suits you. We sell the product, so we earn if you buy, and we want you to judge it with that in mind.

One TheyaVue bottle, front label, 60 capsules

Would you like to read the full terms before you decide?

The official page sets out the pack prices and the 60-day guarantee in plain view.

See today's price and guarantee

Disclosure: Gotheyavue is paid when a sale comes through this site. The seller's checkout sets the final price.

What this is and is not

TheyaVue is a dietary supplement. It is not a drug and it is not FDA approved, and no supplement is. Nothing on this page treats, cures or prevents any disease, and nothing here replaces an eye examination or advice from your own doctor. Ask a doctor about any medical question, and book an eye examination if your sight has changed.

Last updated

TheyaVue · 60 capsules a bottle Three bottles $147 · 60 days from purchase to change your mind
Add To Cart